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DEPENDENT CARE REIMBURSEMENT PLAN (D-Care) 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 

The County of Santa Cruz Flexible Spending Program Amended and Restated 
Dependent Care Reimbursement Program (D-Care Plan) allows you, if you qualify 
under the tax law and elect to participate, to have a portion of your salary placed 
in a dependent care spending account every payday. You may use that money for 
childcare expenses and other dependent care costs that make it possible for you 
to work. The amount you set aside will be tax-free. That is, you will not pay federal 
or state income taxes (in California and most states) or Social Security taxes on it. 
You must use the money for qualifying dependent care expenses, however, or you 
will lose it. 

 
QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 

 
1.  Who is eligible to participate? 

You must be a budgeted full-time, budgeted part-time, or extra help employee of 
the County of Santa Cruz (County) to participate. The law requires that (a) you must 
be single, or (b) if you are married, your spouse must be working, looking for work, in 
school full- time, or handicapped and unable to work. You must be making 
dependent care payments so that you (or your spouse, if applicable) can work. 

 
2.  Can everyone save taxes this way? 

Yes. Some people, however, can save more taxes by using the Dependent Care Tax 
Credit in computing their taxes (Form 2441), so you should examine your own 
situation carefully before you decide whether to participate. You may wish to 
consult with a qualified tax advisor before making this choice. 
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3.  What taxes can I save? 

You will not have to pay federal income tax on the amounts you put into your 
dependent care spending account every payday. Also, in California, you will not 
have to pay state income tax on the amounts you put into your dependent care 
spending account. You will not have to pay Social Security tax on the amounts you 
put into your dependent care spending account. This means, however, that you will 
have paid in a smaller total to Social Security over your working lifetime, and your 
Social Security benefit could be less than it would be if you do not sign up for this 
plan. For most people, the difference is negligible, but you should be aware of it. 

 
4.  How much of my salary can I put into a Dependent Care Spending Account? 

If single, you may put in up to $5,000 per year (but no more than your actual 
income). If you are married, filing a joint federal income tax return with your spouse, 
you and your spouse together may put in up to $5,000 per year (but no more than 
the lower of your two incomes). If you are married, filing separately, your limit is 
$2,500. Those limits translate to $185.19 and $92.60 per bi-weekly pay period, 
respectively. These dollar limits apply to the amount of dependent care assistance 
you receive during the year. Therefore, if you also receive dependent care 
assistance under the plan of your spouse's employer or if you have received 
dependent care assistance under the plan of a former employer during this tax 
year, those amounts will be offset dollar-for-dollar against the amount you may 
contribute to the D-Care Plan. There are special rules for employees whose spouses 
are full time students or disabled; for the specifics that apply to you, call the County 
Auditor Controller's Office. 

 
5.  What happens to the money? 

The County credits the money deducted from your paycheck to a dependent care 
spending account for you to draw on. See the next Q & A for information about how 
to do that. 
 
 
 
 
 

 



6.  How do I receive reimbursement for my dependent care expenses? 

You submit a claim form to the Auditor's Office with evidence of your qualifying 
dependent care expenses. See Q & A #8 for what dependent care expenses qualify 
under the tax law. The Auditor's Office will send you a check for the amount of your 
benefits. The minimum reimbursement check amount is $25. You should save your 
expenses until they total at least that amount. If you send a claim for less than that, 
the Auditor's Office will hold it to combine with your next claim. At the end of the 
year, there is no minimum for the last payment of qualified benefits to obtain what 
is left in your account. If there is not enough in your dependent care spending 
account at any time during the year to cover the claim you have submitted, the 
Auditor's Office will pay you what is there. You must re-submit your claim to be paid 
the balance after the next payday, when more money is deposited in your account. 
You must include the Tax I.D. Number (or Social Security Number) of the care 
provider on the claim form to be reimbursed. You should check with your provider to 
get that number. The tax law requires you to give this number, whether you take the 
tax credit or are reimbursed from a dependent care savings account. Your provider 
is required by law to give you this number. See Q & A #11 for a complete list of what 
must be on the bill. 

 

 
7.  What records will I receive so I will know where my account stands? 

You will receive a statement from the County following the close of each plan year 
showing total D-Care Plan contributions for the year. This information will appear on 
your Form W-2, and it will be mailed to you on or prior to January 31st of the following 
year.



 
8.  What expenses qualify? 

Expenses must be incurred during the plan year, from January 1 through December 
31. Expenses can be for care of a child up to 13 years old, or for care of a dependent 
that is disabled or elderly and frail, who reside with you. Your childcare expenses 
can be for a sitter or housekeeper in your home, a family day care home, or a day 
care center. You can include the full amount you pay to a nursery school, even 
though part of it is for lunch and education expenses. Only the portion of the cost of 
summer camp that is attributable to day care can be included, and camp deposits 
made in the winter or spring cannot be reimbursed until the full bill is due. If you 
have questions about including summer camp costs, call the Auditor Controller's 
Office. If you use a childcare center providing care for more than six children, it must 
comply with applicable state and local licensing regulations. See Q & A #9 for 
information on how to find out if your center qualifies. 
To use your dependent care spending account for expenses for a disabled or 
elderly person, that person must be physically or mentally unable to care for 
himself or herself. The person must be your dependent for tax purposes, and you 
must provide more than half of his or her living expenses. He or she must reside in 
your home at least eight hours a day. Thus, you can pay out of your dependent care 
savings account for adult day care for a frail elderly parent who lives with you and is 
a dependent on your tax return. You cannot use this account, however, to pay part 
of the cost of a nursing home for a parent in another city. You cannot claim 
payments to a relative for dependent care unless (a) the relative is not your 
dependent for the tax year, and (b) the relative is providing childcare as an 
employee another organization, or as a self- employed person in his or her own 
home, or as your employee for whom you are withholding Social Security taxes. 
 
You cannot claim payments to a relative for dependent care unless (a) the relative 
is not your dependent for the tax year, and (b) the relative is providing childcare as 
an employee of another organization, or as a self-employed person in his or her 
own home, or as your employee for whom you are withholding Social Security taxes. 



9. How can I find out if my childcare center qualifies by complying with  
 applicable state and local licensing regulations? 

Call the local childcare information and referral service for the city, town, or county 
in which the center operates. 

 
10.  Can I sign up for a dependent care spending account if I'm married   
  and my spouse doesn't work? 

No. The law is designed to assist single parents and families where both spouses 
work (or one is disabled or in school full time). 

 
11.  Do I have to prove I have paid the money, or just provide a bill? 

You can send in a bill showing the services you are committed to pay for. If you 
receive a bill from your dependent care provider in advance for a week or a month 
of service, you can submit that bill and get the reimbursement from your account 
before you pay the bill. The bill must include the date(s) of service, the tax ID 
Number of the provider, a description of the service, and the dependent's name. 

 
12.  My childcare provider isn't a business; she doesn't give me a bill. Is there a  
  form she could use? 

The Auditor Controller's Office will provide a sample bill form for you to give your 
provider. 

 
13.  My childcare provider doesn't report income to the IRS. Does that affect  
  my ability to use a dependent care spending account? 

You won't be able to get your money out of your dependent care spending account 
without the provider's Social Security number. You must list the provider's name, 
address, and tax I.D. number on your claim form if you want to be reimbursed. You 
should get the number from your provider before signing up for the plan. The 
provider is required by law to give it to you. (The only exception is if it's a non-profit 
organization under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3) such as a day care 
center operated by a non-profit religious or educational organization.) To get 
the tax benefit, you must provide the identification information. This is true for the 
tax credit as well as for the dependent care spending account. 



14.   May I use both the tax credit and the dependent care spending account? 
 

You may not add the advantages of the tax credit and the dependent care 
spending account. If you use the tax credit (Form 2441), every dollar of your salary 
you have put into a dependent care spending account reduces by one dollar the 
expenses you may claim for the tax credit. You may split the tax benefits between 
both arrangements, but there is no advantage to you in doing so. You should 
carefully examine your own tax situation. In doing so, you may wish to consult with a 
qualified tax professional. 

 
15.   What happens to the money if any is left over in my account? 

You must be careful in estimating your expenses before you sign up. Any amounts 
left over as of March 15 (following the plan year), will be returned to the County. No 
money will be returned to participants. 

 
16.   How do I sign up? 

Use the enrollment form available from your department Personnel Payroll Clerk. If 
you are a current employee, you must enroll during the annual open enrollment 
period. Certain qualifying events may allow for late enrollment (please see D-Care 
Plan Document for additional information). If you are hired after the first pay period 
of the plan year, you must sign up within your first full pay period of employment 
with the County of Santa Cruz. 

 



 
17.  How can I decide how much to have withheld? 

Here are the steps to figure out how much to put into your account each payday: 
Add up the dependent care expenses you expect to have during the plan year. 
Include your regular childcare costs, as well as amounts you probably will have to 
pay for emergencies, and the amount you expect to pay for any special summer 
arrangements. Account for foreseeable changes in your child care needs during the 
year, such as a child starting school in September. Don't forget to account for any 
periods when you might not pay for dependent care, such as vacation. Divide the 
total by 27. This is the amount to have put into your dependent care spending 
account each bi- weekly payday. To be safe, or if you think your estimate might be 
too high, reduce this figure to be sure you will spend the entire account by the end 
of the year. If you have a question about what expenses are eligible, see Q & A #8 or 
call the Auditor Controller's Office. 

 
18.  Can I change my dependent care spending account amount during the year? 

You may only change your dependent care spending account deduction during the 
year if there is a change in your family or job status or certain other changes. For 
example, if you have another child during the year, you could increase your 
deduction. If you are a single parent and get married during the year to a non-
working spouse, you may no longer continue to participate in the plan. If you and 
your non-working spouse divorce, and you become responsible for dependent care, 
you may join the plan. If your spouse loses or takes a job or changes from part- 
time to full-time, you may stop, start, or change your deduction, as appropriate. If 
you want to make a change and qualify to do so, you should get in touch with the 
Auditor Controller's Office and complete a change form. It takes about one pay 
period to make such a change. You may not change your dependent care 
spending account deduction because of a hardship.



 
19.  What happens to my account if I go on leave-without-pay? 

If you are on leave-without-pay at any time during the year, you may not contribute 
to your dependent care spending account during that period. Your contributions will 
resume at the same rate when you return, unless you have had a change in family 
or job status or other qualifying change and wish to change your dependent care 
spending account deduction. See Q & A #18. 
You may continue to draw money out of your dependent care spending account for 
dependent care expenses while you are on leave. 

 
20.  What happens if I leave employment with the County? 

If you leave employment with the County, you are no longer an eligible participant 
and no money will be put into your dependent care spending account after your 
last paycheck. Expenses for services after your separation date are not eligible for 
reimbursement. 

 
21.  What happens to my dependent care spending account if I die? 

Your beneficiary can draw from your dependent care spending account for 
dependent care expenses by the same method. Your beneficiary for this account 
will be the same as the beneficiary you have listed for your County life insurance, 
unless you sign a special beneficiary form designating someone else. Call the 
Auditor Controller's Office if you wish to designate a different beneficiary. 

 
22.  When must I sign up? 

You must sign up during the County's annual pre-tax programs open enrollment 
period, which generally occurs from mid-September to early-October, prior to the 
plan year (January 1 to December 31). Late enrollment is only permissible based 
upon qualifying events as noted in the D-Care Plan Document. Annual enrollment is 
required. 



23. How can I obtain more information about the D-Care Plan? 

For more information about the D-Care Plan, the D-Care Plan document and the 
enrollment forms are available on the County's website at 

http://www.santacruzcounty.us/benefits 
 
 
*You may also obtain these documents from your departmental Personnel 
Payroll Clerk. * 

http://www.santacruzcounty.us/benefits

